Quick Answer: What Foods Were Eaten During Matariki?

What is the Matariki story?

One old Pacific legend tells of Matariki, the mother surrounded by her six daughters.

In Maori Matariki means ‘tiny eyes’ or ‘eyes of God’.

The children of the earth mother Papatuanuku and sky father, Ranginui, were divided over whether to separate them and bring light and life to the earth..

Are there 7 or 9 stars in Matariki?

The nine stars of Matariki There are nine stars in the Greek tradition of the constellation: seven children and their parents. In the Māori tradition, there are also nine stars: Matariki (Alcyone) – the mother of the other stars in the constellation.

What does matariki mean in English?

Matariki is the Māori name for the cluster of stars also known as the Pleiades. It rises in midwinter and for many Māori, it heralds the start of a new year. Matariki literally means the ‘eyes of god’ (mata ariki) or ‘little eyes’ (mata riki).

What is Matariki called in China?

MaoOther cultures Matariki is visible in many locations so has lots of names across different cultures. The Greek name is the Pleiades, in Japan it is called Subaru and in China it is Mao, the Hairy Head of the White Tiger of the West.

Why is matariki so important?

Traditionally, Matariki was used to determine the coming season’s crop. A warmer season, and therefore a more productive crop yield, was indicated by how bright the stars were. Matariki provides an ideal opportunity to explore the ways that people pass on and sustain aspects of their culture and heritage.

How is Matariki celebrated now?

Matariki was a time to learn about the natural world. Today, one way we can embrace this tradition is by creating an edible garden. Growing your own veges, fruit or herbs is simple and satisfying.

Who is the youngest Matariki star?

Hiwa-i-te-rangiHiwa-i-te-rangi – the youngest, is the wishing star that also ties into our aspirations for the coming year.

Who is Ururangi?

Ururangi is the star which determines the nature of the winds for the year. Māori have always maintained a keen interest in the wind. It was only by harnessing the power of the wind that Māori were able to travel to Aotearoa in the very beginning.

What are the 9 stars of Matariki called?

The nine visible stars include: Matariki, Tupuārangi, Waipuna-ā-Rangi, Waitī, Tupuānuku, Ururangi, Waitā, Pōhutukawa and Hiwa-i-te-Rangi. Each star holds a certain significance over our wellbeing and environment, as seen from the Māori view of the world.

What is the best time to see Matariki?

One of the easiest times of year to see Matariki is at end of summer/beginning of autumn as it appears just after sunset.

When did matariki first start?

On Fri 16 Jun 2017 Te Papa held its first Matariki Ritual which marked the beginning of the Matariki Rising Festival. People from around Aotearoa, and the globe, came together to share stories, celebrate life, and remember those who passed in the last year.

How long does matariki last?

3 daysThe Matariki new moon happens some time in June or July each year. Some people celebrate the New Year on the day the new moon rises, and others celebrate on the day after the new moon. Celebrations can last for up to 3 days.

What are the 7 stars of Matariki called?

The name Matariki is used also for the central star in the cluster, with the surrounding stars named Tupu-ā-nuku, Tupu-ā-rangi, Waitī, Waitā, Waipunā-ā-rangi and Ururangi.

What is another name for Matariki?

Matariki has many different names around the world. In English, it is called the Pleiades (its ancient Greek name) or the Seven Sisters. The Hawaiian name is Makali’i, or ‘eyes of royalty’, and in Japan it is Subaru, meaning ‘gathered together’.