Quick Answer: Who Was The First British Resident In New Zealand?

Who did James Busby stay with while his house was being built?

Agnes BusbyAgnes Busby joined him the following year and they settled at Waitangi, where Busby erected a two-roomed residence..

Who signed the Treaty of Waitangi?

There were two versions of the Treaty. One was in Māori, the other was written in English. William Hobson signed for Queen Victoria, the Queen of England. He signed the English and Māori versions.

When did Colonisation start in New Zealand?

December 1642First contacts. By the time the first Europeans arrived, Māori had settled the land, every corner of which came within the interest and influence of a tribal (iwi) or sub-tribal (hapū) grouping. Abel Tasman was the first of the European explorers known to have reached New Zealand, in December 1642.

Who were the first settlers in New Zealand?

Māori settlement The first people to arrive in New Zealand were ancestors of the Māori. The first settlers probably arrived from Polynesia between 1200 and 1300 AD. They discovered New Zealand as they explored the Pacific, navigating by the ocean currents, winds and stars.

Why did James Busby lose his job?

He declined an offer for a position in the new colonial government, and instead focused on farming interests, but became entangled in litigation over his own land titles: the New Zealand Banking Company seized his Waitangi property without giving Busby’s debtors an opportunity to pay what they owed, and Governor Grey …

Who was James Busby and what did he do?

Busby also has a claim to fame as our first winemaker. He trained in Europe as a viticulturalist, and brought a collection of grapevines that helped to found the Australian wine industry. In the late 1830s he established a vineyard at Waitangi.

Who wrote the Declaration of Independence NZ?

James BusbyIn 1834, a document known as the Declaration of the Independence of New Zealand was drafted by 34 northern Māori chiefs — including Tāmati Wāka Nene, Tītore and Bay of Islands brothers; Te Wharerahi, Rewa, and Moka Te Kainga-mataa — together with James Busby, the official British Resident in New Zealand.

Does the queen own New Zealand?

New Zealand is a constitutional monarchy with The Queen as Sovereign. The Sovereign and the House of Representatives together make up the Parliament of New Zealand.

What if New Zealand was never colonized?

If New Zealand were never colonised, it would be uninhabited. The Maoris arrived from Polynesia in the 14th century and settled mainly in the North Island, and the British arrived in the early 19th century. Unlike Australia, New Zealand has no indigenous population dating from prehistory.

Who was the first British Resident in Aotearoa?

James Busby5 May 1833 James Busby arrived in the Bay of Islands on board HMS Imogene. His appointment as British Resident was the first tentative step along a path that led to the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi seven years later.

Is New Zealand under British rule?

In 1841, New Zealand became a British colony. In 1853, only 12 years after the founding of the colony, the British Parliament passed the New Zealand Constitution Act 1852 to grant the colony’s settlers the right to self-governance.

Why did William Hobson want the treaty?

On 5 February 1840, Hobson met with Māori chiefs at Waitangi, and the following morning they signed a treaty by which the chiefs purportedly voluntarily transferred sovereignty to the British Crown in return for guarantees respecting their lands and possessions and their rights as British subjects.

Does England own Australia?

The six colonies federated in 1901 and the Commonwealth of Australia was formed as a Dominion of the British Empire. … Until 1949, Britain and Australia shared a common nationality code. The final constitutional ties between the United Kingdom and Australia ended in 1986 with the passing of the Australia Act 1986.

What tribes did not sign treaties?

Tāraia Ngākuti, a chief of Ngāti Tamaterā in the Coromandel, was one of many notable chiefs who refused to sign the Treaty of Waitangi.

What is the Maori name for the Declaration of Independence?

He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni – known in English as the Declaration of Independence of the United Tribes of New Zealand – is a constitutional document of historical and cultural significance.

What was New Zealand called before?

Tasman’s discovery Nova ZeelandiaHendrik Brouwer proved that the South American land was a small island in 1643, and Dutch cartographers subsequently renamed Tasman’s discovery Nova Zeelandia, from Latin, after the Dutch province of Zeeland. This name was later anglicised to “New Zealand”.

Why were the British attracted to New Zealand?

Britain was motivated by the desire to forestall the New Zealand Company and other European powers (France established a very small settlement at Akaroa in the South Island later in 1840), to facilitate settlement by British subjects and, possibly, to end the lawlessness of European (predominantly British and American) …

How many chiefs signed the Declaration of Independence NZ?

28 October 1835 Thirty-four northern chiefs signed He Whakaputanga o te Rangatiratanga o Nu Tireni (the Declaration of Independence of the United Tribes of New Zealand) at a hui called by the British Resident, James Busby.